Picture

 

Fogo Island is the largest of the numerous islands that are located in the waters off Newfoundland. Change Islands, a nearby group of islands, includes two large islands connected by a causeway that was built in 1965 and resulted in the arrival of the first motor vehicles on the islands. Fogo and Change Islands share a captivatingly rugged landscape as well as a population firmly rooted in their outport heritage.

The community of Change Islands (population approximately 535) is located along the narrow tickle that separates the two main islands. Settlement dates from 1783, when British merchants set up shop to accommodate the burgeoning Labrador fishery.

The larger Fogo Island (population approximately 2 000) sits on one of the earliest Newfoundland fishing grounds to be exploited by Spanish, French and Portuguese fishermen. The island appears on maps as early as the 1500s as Y del Fogo, or Isle of Fire in Portuguese.

The islands are connected to the mainland of the province by way of a single ferry which serves both islands.